Resolutions, version 2015

I took a break from writing (or even having) my resolutions last year because I was due with baby #2 in January and had no idea what life with two children would look like! Turns out, there’s not as much time to read (one of my usual resolutions) or write blog posts (another), but it definitely did not stop me from having goals! In fact, more than ever, I have to be disciplined in my life if I want to get anything done at all! So this year, I’m back at it. And did you know I have been recording my resolutions on my blog since 2007? I can’t quit now!

  1. Read 24 books. In the past, I’ve read 30+ books a year, but this year that drastically declined to… 11. (And yes, that includes audiobooks!) I’m embarrassed to even admit that! So this year, I’d like to get in two per month. If only I could count the million times I’ve listened to the Harry Potter books…
  2. Lose 25 pounds. I can no longer consider myself postpartum since it’s officially been a year! No more excuses! I will be following the Trim, Healthy Mama plan (if you haven’t heard of it, I would highly recommend it) and in an effort to jump start my progress, I am committing to giving up sugar for the first 60 days of the year. I will be either blogging or tweeting my progress daily for extra motivation and accountability.
  3. Teach Audrey 26 verses. Growing up, my mom used the Bible verse ABCs with me, and I still have the same book she used. So now I will use them with Audrey and do 2-3 per month. I also am going to try to read her a Bible story every day.
  4. 27 Randoms. Walk more. Be thankful. Be joyful. Love better. Be patient. Show God’s love. Be active. Play with David on the floor. Write more. Finish projects. Make playdates. Floss more. Play badminton with my dad. Laminate verses. Bake healthy alternatives. Do stretches daily. Finish basement. Drink more water. Get outside. Sit up straight. Finish children’s story for Audrey. Go to the beach more. Spend less. Read Bible before Facebook. Encourage others. Step outside my comfort zone. Be brave.

OK, so my last “resolution” is mostly unquantifiable, but I noticed a pattern with my first three and wanted to continue it! And those are all ways I’ve been trying to live anyway, so why not resolve to do them more?

As usual, I’ll post an update in a couple months! (In the meantime, you can read the children’s story that I wrote for Audrey here. When I say I want to finish it, I mean finish the illustrations I’ve been working on for years!)

~ by Amy on January 1, 2015.

3 Responses to “Resolutions, version 2015”

  1. Hi Amy,
    I stumbled across your blog many months ago and will peek in every now and then to read what you’ve written. I am very encouraged by your posts and the mature Christian woman you have become. We actually “grew up” together in a sense from early days in Joyful Sound at BRCC to high school at CHS. It’s great to see where you are at in life now! Take care and many blessings to you and your family.

    ~Melissa F.

  2. Hi Melissa! How fun to hear from you! Thank you for your comment, it means a lot. I hope all is well with you and your family!

    • Thank you Amy. My family and I are doing well, thought life hasn’t always come easy or without its roadblocks. God has been very faithful to carry us through all He has ordained for our lives and we are very blessed. I have been married for 13 years and we have 3 children- 2 boys whom God chose us to steward on earth and a daughter awaiting us in heaven. I stay busy fulfilling my dream of being a stay-at-home wife and homeschooling mama. It’s been great to re-connect with you!

Leave a Reply

 
