Goodbye, Hyderabad

Today is my last day in Hyderabad, India.  And while I am so excited to enter the next stage of my life back in the States, I will certainly miss some things about living here.  So I want to take some time right now and remember some of my favorite things (a la The Sound of Music).

  • having my own bathroom (even though Ryan tried to poach it near the end)
  • bottled water delivered straight to our door for $2/50 liters.
  • days at the spa (for cheap!)
  • a wide variety of wonderful restaurants (for cheap!)
  • living here was something that made me interesting (am I revealing my inner insecurities?)
  • furniture made just how you like it (for relatively cheap!)
  • meeting people from all over the world
  • learning some Hindi (I hope I can continue learning!)
  • feeling like a celebrity (being stared at, people wanting my picture)
  • our beautiful, beautiful apartment (something I already miss, as we are staying in a hotel now)
  • our sweet driver (pic below with Ryan)

Ryan and Laxman

Of course, there are things I won’t miss.  But I prefer to remember the positives (in print, at least!).   So goodbye, Hyderabad!  It has been an amazing experience living here.  I will always hold the city close to my heart.

~ by Amy on August 14, 2009.

7 Responses to “Goodbye, Hyderabad”

  1. Enjoyed reading this, Amy. I think that over the years, you’ll increasingly realize how fortunately you and Ryan were to have this experience. The one surprise in your list was being treated like a celebrity (stared at, etc). While expressing it this way makes it sound fun, I thought that this was generally on your other list!

  2. Why did Ryan try to take your bathroom?? 🙂 A great list!!

  3. Can’t wait to have you both in the same time zone and continent again.

  4. I agree with Joe … It’ll be nice to not have to think as much about time zones. I’m glad (and a bit jealous!) of your time there, but am happy to be able to see you again stateside.

  5. I was starting to feel sad too because now I won’t be able to come and stay in that wonderful apartment again!

    As for getting more sentimental as the years go by, this is true. It’s the way Daddy and I feel about our 3 years in Germany. A little bit of our hearts was left there!

    I was surprised too that you enjoyed being stared at! I thought you hated that! And believe me, you will be stared at here too because you are so beautiful.

  6. Ditto to all of the above! Welcome home. 🙂

  7. Sorry, I am just catching up on my blogging again. But how wonderful to have a list of your “favorite things” from this time in your life. And for the record – you will still continue to be interesting to me 🙂 – You are such a great writer! I look forward to hearing more!

Leave a Reply

 
