Culture Shock, episode 3

Perhaps the following isn’t really a “shock” per se, but it certainly shows some cultural differences.

Ryan has been interviewing potential employees for a position in his team, and brought the resumes home to review.  And I, being the interested (I prefer not to use the term “nosy”, although I know others have used it to describe me) woman that I am, decided to browse through at my leisure.  Some of the hobbies listed surprised me, like “partying” for example.  But my absolute favorite needed further explanation.

When Ryan decided to ask an Indian co-worker to tell him what it meant, the answer was simply that the candidate had a lot of pets.  When the co-worker asked about the inquiry, Ryan explained that it meant something very different in the States and it’s not something you’d put on a resume!

 

Hobbies: heavy petting

~ by Amy on February 6, 2009.

4 Responses to “Culture Shock, episode 3”

  1. oh my!

  2. Amy, you need to send this to reader’s digest or something!

  3. Hmmmnn… I read a blog that a man wrote who was interveiwing for my husbands company (also in Hyderabad). He talked about how stupid my husbands company was for hiring him. I tink he was fired (does he know that anyone can read blogs?)

  4. […] Culture Shock, episode 3 – This still makes me laugh. […]

Leave a Reply

 
