Summer Reading List

I have decided to use the upcoming season as a perfect opportunity to continue with the grand tradition of summer reading lists.  In looking at my “books I’ve read” spreadsheet, I was very saddened to see the lack of books I’ve read, as well as the lack of diverse genres.  Therefore, I am going to try to read from the following list, taken from this article*:

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Bible
The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkien

1984 by George Orwell
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
All Quite on the Western Front by E M Remarque
His Dark Materials Trilogy by Phillip Pullman
Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
The Lord of the Flies by William Golding
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon
Tess of the D’urbevilles by Thomas Hardy
Winnie the Pooh by AA Milne
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
The Prophet by Khalil Gibran
David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Middlemarch by George Eliot
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Alexander Solzenhitsyn
Ring of Endless Light by Madeline L’Engle

OK, so that last one isn’t actually on the list, but I promised a friend I would read it this summer.  The ones in bold/italic I have already read, and therefore will not be re-reading.  Honestly, this is a rather daunting task (and one that will take much longer than one summer) considering my love of the mystery!**

*I also enjoyed this article, which is another blogger’s opinion of the above referenced list.

**This is probably one of the worst posts I’ve ever written.  OK, not really, but what can I say?  This is the earliest I’ve ever posted before and I’m not fully awake yet!  Yeah, it’s 10:30 AM.  So what?

~ by Amy on June 12, 2008.

12 Responses to “Summer Reading List”

  1. I am so in love with To Kill a Mockingbird. It was one of my favorites of all time. And I loved The Wind in the Willow too. Some of these I read in school and have almost no memory of and others stand out. I loved and still do, Jane Eyre. I know you aren’t looking for more choices since this is a huge list, but I am finding I, Mona Lisa so nice to read and well out of my norm. I can’t even tell you WHY I am enjoying it except that it is historical (not something I have tended to gravitate to) and has a very interesting character, being Mona Lisa. You might want to give it a try.

  2. […] am going to work on my Summer Reading List.  Yes, by that time, it will be autumn.  That is […]

  3. You have a great reading list Amy. Stick with it for as long as it takes. Dad and I read (or rather listened to Life of Pi together. It was so good and had a very surprising ending. Have you read The Secret Garden? Many have seen the movie, it is good too, but the book is so much better. My Grandmother read it to me every spring for years, I never get tired of it.

  4. […] by Agatha Christie.  Yes, devotees of this blog will know that I should be working on my Summer Reading List and continuing researching my novel instead, but once in a while I need something trivial!  (By […]

  5. […] Review: To Kill a Mockingbird I have just finished the first book off my Summer Reading List* and want to share some of my thoughts from reading it.  Please note that I have not done any […]

  6. […] The last two were my favorites of them all, which makes me want to move right on to the next one, Love, Lies, and Liquor!  I won’t though.  I must continue my Summer Reading List! […]

  7. […] Review: 1984 I have just finished the second book off my Summer Reading List and want to share some of my thoughts from reading it.  As with my book review on To Kill a […]

  8. […] Review: The Wind in the Willows   I have finally made an ounce of progress in my Summer Reading List (before I finish this list, it will be the end of yet another Summer!) by finishing The Wind in […]

  9. […] working on a quilt or two, in the middle of a knitted scarf, learning a language, working through a book list, and a bunch of random projects (at one point I even built my own doll house!  I wish I had those […]

  10. […] Clockwork Orange – a dystopia by Anthony Burgess that I only read because it was on my Summer Reading list.  I found it very disturbing and I’m not sure what I gained from it besides being able to […]

  11. […] you may know, I love lists.  I’ve written a lot about my lists: my Fear list, my Summer Reading list, my hot blog post lists, my books read lists, and a bunch of random lists!  And even that previous […]

  12. […] (pile of boring books, the infamous Summer Reading List, WoT, and my wonderful new subscription to […]

Leave a Reply

 
