Worry Wart

As long as I can remember, I have been a worrier.  When trying to pinpoint when this began, I see my dad bringing me, his 6 year-old daughter, an 80-foot chain ladder to keep under my bed.  The idea, he said, was if there was ever a fire, I could throw this ladder over my windowsill and climb down to safety. 

I was 6, probably about 45 pounds, and I was supposed to throw this 80-foot chain ladder over the window and climb down three stories to safety, meanwhile the house is so engulfed in flames that I can’t run down a flight of stairs to the front door to get out.

So the 80-foot chain ladder was put under my bed and I would go to sleep at night praying that there would never be a fire so I didn’t have to endeavor lifting that ladder and throwing out the window.  And upon turning 10, there was the new element of how I would hold our two new puppies while climbing down the three stories on the chain ladder! 

But the 80-foot chain ladder was never moved, and upon my departure to college, it was still there, under my bed, collecting dust.  So thank you, Daddy, for taking care of me and wanting me to be safe.  And maybe, just maybe, turning me into the worrier I am today!

~ by Amy on May 4, 2008.

6 Responses to “Worry Wart”

  1. If you read this, Daddy, don’t worry. I really don’t think this scarred me for life as I imply here! 🙂 But it makes a funny story, right? I was just so little when you gave me that huge ladder! And it was so ridiculously heavy! But it’s cute. Love you!!

  2. how is it that a parent’s good intentions has lead to such a disaster! I’m so sorry that we caused such trauma, but in thinking back, I used to go to bed too wondering which window I would jump out and how I was going to rescue you and throw out that crazy ladder too!

    I was laughing like crazy when I read this. You are too funny. I know you aren’t really that paranoid!

    Love Mom

  3. Okay can I just say that I think you should post something on your MOMMA and HER issues and their contribution to your paranoia. Because trust me…I can so see it in Renee. The fear of going under a bridge and having someone throw a bowling ball onto her windshield and killing her immediately! The fear of going to the mall and not looking under the car for the man laying in wait just to slash her tendons and make her unable to run and then raping and murdering her. The fear of every disease under the SUN! You get the idea. I love my sister…but she has ISSUES!!

  4. oh my….I am laughing so hard at your post and then at the comments from the fans. HAHAHA!!!! You ALL have issues (yeah, like I don’t). Funny stuff!

  5. That is too funny!! We are so much alike! I actually told EJ this year that we should buy a ladder just in case there’s a fire. But then I started thinking that there’s a tree right below our porch and maybe I could kind of fling myself to a branch and then climb down from there. That’s what I’ve decided to do. And you know what else I’m paranoid about? What if there is a fire. I need to make sure that my pj’s are appropriate for a fireman to see me. That’s why I ALWAYS wear pajama pants to bed…just in case:)

  6. None of this is funny.

    🙂
    Dad

Leave a Reply

 
