Be Careful…

I wish I could be reminded of my mortality without having to lose something precious.

I wish I would cry more at the ends of books and less during corny TV shows.

I wish I lived in a castle and had long enough hair for my prince to admire it, even from my tower window.

I wish I had magical powers and everything I touched would succeed.

I wish I were tall and lean with a wonderful fashion sense.

I wish I hadn’t taken youth for granted when I was young.

I wish I was uninhibited and felt free to explore my wildest dreams.

I wish I was a Broadway singer, with a voice that reached to the rafters.

I wish I could dance freely and not wonder what people were thinking.

I wish I were a fairy princess, with evil stepsisters but a kind heart and my loyal subjects loved me as their queen.

I wish I were a better wife, friend, daughter, and Christian.

I wish I were more like my mom and grandmother.

I wish, when I looked out my window from a soft window seat, that there would be soft rolling green hills as far as my eyes could see.

I wish I were a writer.

I wish my favorite food was broccoli and its all I ever wanted to eat.

I wish Cadbury Cream Eggs were a magical potion that made you lose weight in all the right places.

I wish I was brave enough to star in my own adventure.

I wish my fears wouldn’t overtake me.

I wish I was disciplined enough to achieve my goals.

I wish I knew how to be content and “content” wasn’t such a boring word.

I wish my husband acted just like he does in my head.

I wish my imagination wouldn’t lead me to discontentment or disquiet, but would only come out when I call, with something absolutely brilliant.

I wish I were somewhat good at a lot of things.

I wish I were really good at one thing.

I wish I didn’t have to work, but never got bored.

I wish I could travel mystical isles, attempting dangerous deeds and exhilarating quests, while saving my money to buy beautiful robes and a horse to be my friend and carry me on my journey.

…what you wish for.

~ by Amy on August 3, 2006.

One Response to “Be Careful…”

  1. Amy, I so loved this. I have so many wishes too, many that could mirror yours. It’s funny. No matter how old I get, I still have wishes and dreams. It seems some days like they are so far from my reach. Impossible dreams. And that does make me sad. But I still don’t give up. I can’t give up. What is left if you don’t have your dreams? Even if no one can understand them. Even if no one KNOWS them but YOU. You still hold on. You still hope. You still dream! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
