It’s Raining, It’s Pouring

I used to be terrified of thunderstorms. I used to lay in my room just knowing that lightning was about to strike the huge old Oaks just beyond my bedroom window. It would fall right across the bed, in flames. I would have to scramble to find the extremely heavy metal fold-up ladder, fling it out my window, throw myself onto it, while holding my puppies – Hugs and Kises. I would surely die.

Within the last few minutes, I have realized I’m not that scared anymore. In fact, thunderstorms are romantic and like a mini-adventure! Here I am at work, listening to the growls of the thunder and wishing against wish that the power would go out! We’d have to reach under our desks for the emergency red backpack, and maybe, if we were lucky, they’d close the office and we could go home. Once home – if I made it! – I could curl up in a blanket, turn on a good movie, because of course, it’s dark enough to watch one now, and feel like I’d just finished my own adventure.

~ by Amy on July 12, 2006.

One Response to “It’s Raining, It’s Pouring”

  1. I used to run around in the rain wrapped in old sheets. I was the queen of Storms and had magical powers that could make the rain pour down harder. I would swing on the rope swing and I would be flying.

    Even now I find myself getting caught in rainstorms as I walk back from the coffeeshop and I can’t help but laugh that I still possess the magical power of making it rain harder.

    It truly is an adventure each and everytime.

    -Alyssa

Leave a Reply

 
